Leading Professional Society for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Connecting, Training, Empowering, Worldwide

ISCB Fellows

Scroll down to see the full list of current ISCB Fellows.

The International Society for Computational Biology introduced the ISCB Fellows Program in 2009 to honor members that have distinguished themselves through outstanding contributions to the fields of computational biology and bioinformatics. During the inaugural year of the program, ISCB conferred the Fellow status on the seven winners-to-date of the ISCB Accomplishment by a Senior Scientist Award, and recognized these distinguished scientists during the ISMB/ECCB 2009 conference in Stockholm, Sweden. Since then ISCB has sought nominations from our community of members, which are reviewed and voted upon by a selection committee. New Fellows are introduced at each year's ISMB conference.

Fellows nominations will open in September 2017.  The deadline to submit a nomination is 2 December 2017.  Nominations for the selection of the 2017 Class of Fellows is now closed.

Nomination procedure:

  • Each fellow is nominated by an ISCB member using the online nomination form. The nomination form asks for a summary comprising a few sentences of the reason for the nomination, a more detailed half-page statement of motivation (500 words maximum) on why this is a good nominee, and a CV (as either an uploaded document , link to the nominees website, or an informative list-like CV created by the nominator).
  • We encourage a careful preparation of the nomination material. In the past years, the hurdles for accepting a candidate as a fellow have increased in two ways: First, the number of nominations has risen sharply, reaching up to 50, which contrasts with at most 15 or so people who can be accepted in a year. For this reason, it cannot be expected that the voters search for additional information on candidates that is not given in the nomination. Therefore the nomination should give all information that the nominator considers essential. Second, acceptance requires a 60% majority of the votes of all voting fellows. As the number of fellows rises, this hurdle is increasingly hard to overcome. In particular, the nominator cannot assume that the voters are familiar with the candidate. For this reason, the nomination should concentrate on the information that is essential and characteristic for the candidate.
  • The nominator must also provide a one-to-two sentence citation highlighting the contributions to the computational field. (For example “for discovery of computational methods for analyzing high-throughput sequencing data”). This blurb will be used on promotional materials and presented to the newly-elected Fellow for review. The Fellows Committee will have final say on the content of the new Fellows’ descriptions.
  • Fellow status is automatically bestowed upon the annual Accomplishment by a Sr. Scientist Award winner.
  • Selection of new Fellows each year is limited to 1/2 of one percent of the previous year's membership, including the Sr. Scientist Award winner.

The ISCB Fellows Selection Committee (made up of the current Fellows) oversees the Fellows Program and recommends changes or improvements to the ISCB Board of Directors. Selecting new Fellows is the job of the Fellows Selection Committee by voting on the nominations received each year. The Selection Committee is made up of all current Fellows. Upon selection, new Fellows may use the title immediately and will be recognized at the ISMB meeting following their selection.



Helen Berman Steven Brenner Dan Gusfield Barry Honig Janet Kelso Michal Linial Christine Orengo
Helen Berman Rutgers University Steven Brenner University of California, Berkeley Dan Gusfield University of California, Davis Barry Honig Columbia University Janet Kelso
MPI for Evolutionary Anthropology
Michal Linial
The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Christine Orengo University College London

Aviv Regev Sarah Teichmann Lincoln Stein Anna Tramontano Haim Wolfson Tel Aviv University Shoshana Wodak  
Aviv Regev
Broad Institute

Sarah Teichmann EMBL-European Bioinformatics Institute Lincoln Stein Ontario Institute for Cancer Research Anna Tramontano University of Rome Haim Wolfson
Tel Aviv University
Shoshana Wodak University of Toronto  



2010 2015 2011 2014 2013 2012 2014
Russ B. Altman
Stanford University

European Bioinformatics
Institute of the European Molecular Biology Laboratory, Hinxton, UK
Michael Ashburner
2011 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award
Amos Bairoch
University of Geneva, Switzerland
Pierre Baldi
University of
California, Irvine
Bonnie Berger
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA
Ewan Birney
Molecular Biology Laboratory-European
Institute (EMBL-EBI)

Søren Brunak
2011 2011 2015 2015 2011 2013 2014
Philip E. Bourne
National Institutes of Health, USA
Søren Brunak
Novo Nordisk
Foundation Center for Protein Research

Wolfson College, Cambridge University, Cambridge, UK
Julio Collado-Vides
Center for Genomics Sciences, Universidad
Nacional Autonoma de Mexico (UNAM), Mexico
Richard Durbin
Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute, UK
David Eisenberg
2013 ISCB Senior Scientist Award;
University of
Los Angeles, USA
Nir Friedman
Hebrew University
Jerusalem, Israel

2014 2015 2009 2015 2010 2013 2012
Robert Gentleman
San Francisco, USA
Mark Gerstein
Yale University, New Haven
David Haussler
2008 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award
University of California,
Santa Cruz, USA
Desmond Higgins
University College Dublin
Lawrence Hunter
University of
Colorado School of
Medicine, Denver
Minoru Kanehisa
Kyoto University
Peter Karp
SRI International

2015 2015 2009 2012 2013 2013 2013
Thomas Lengauer
Max-Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany

Stanford University, Stanford, USA
David Lipman
2004 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award;
National Center
for Biotechnology
Information (NCBI)
Jill Mesirov
The Broad Institute
of Massachusetts Institute of
Technology and Harvard
Webb Miller
2009 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award; Pennsylvania State University, USA
Satoru Miyano
University of Tokyo,
Eugene Myers
2014 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award;
Howard Hughes
Medical Institute-Janelia
Farm Research
Center, Ashburn, USA

2012 2012 2015 2014 2013 2010 2009
Ruth Nussinov
Tel Aviv University,
Israel and the
National Cancer Institute
Pavel Pevzner
University of California,
San Diego, USA
Technical University Munich, Germany
Andrej Sali
University of California,
San Francisco, USA
Steven Salzberg
Johns Hopkins
University School
of Medicine
Chris Sander
2010 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award;
Cancer Center
New York, USA
David Sankoff
2003 ISCB Senior Scientist Award; University of Ottawa Université de MontréalCanada

2012 2009 2010 2009 2010 2012 2012
Ron Shamir
Tel Aviv University,
Temple Smith
2007 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award
Boston University
Gary Stormo Washington
St. Louis, USA
Janet Thornton
2005 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award;
European Bioinformatics
Institute (EBI), UK
Alfonso Valencia
Spanish National
Cancer Research
Center and
Spanish National
Bioinformatics Institute, Madrid, Spain
Martin Vingron
Max Planck Institute
for Molecular Genetics,
Gunnar von Heijne
2012 ISCB Senior Scientist Award;
Stockholm University,

Mike Waterman
2006 ISCB Senior
Scientist Award;
of Southern
California, USA