ISCB-Asia/SCCG 2012


BMC Genomics Special Issue for Proceedings Track papers

Some photos taken at the conference

Conference Program at a glance

Poster List

Special Sessions

Registration Fees

The second ISCB-Asia 2012 was held in Shenzhen, China (directly adjacent to Hong Kong), jointly with with BGI, under the name of ISCB-Asia/SCCG 2012 (Shenzhen Conference on Computational Genomics). The main conference was held on December 17-19 and a collaborating meeting AYRCOB was held on December 20-21, 2012. Within Shenzhen, the conference site was the Kingkey Palace hotel, a five star hotel facing the Dameisha Sea Park.

Special thanks to:

BGI for co-hosting the conference and taking care of all local arrangements!
AIST, Cluster Technology and BIOBASE for sponsoring the conference. the PC chair Victor Jin for leading the way on the BMC Genomics special issue; special session organizers: Scott Edmonds, Chen-Hsiang Yeang and Dabo Zhang. Yoshinori Fukasawa for designing the conference poster. Huinan Hao for local arrangements. Finally thanks to Daehee Hwang, Guylaine Poisson, and Mark Ragan and many other supporters not listed here who invested their time in making this conference a success!

Keynote and Invited Speakers

Gunnar von Heijne [Abstract & Biography]
Professor Stockholm University, Sweden.

Philip Green [Abstract & Biography]
University of Washington, Seattle, USA.

Takashi Ito [CV] [Abstract & Biography]
Professor The University of Tokyo, Japan.

Piero Carninci [CV] [Abstract & Biography]
Leader, Functional Genomics Technology Team, RIKEN, Japan.

Eric Xing [CV] [Abstract & Biography]
Associate Professor Carnegie Mellon University, USA.

Zhiping Weng [Abstract & Biography]
Director, Program in Bioinformatics and Integrative Biology and Professor of Biochemistry and Molecular Pharmacology,
University of Massachusetts Medical School, Worcester, USA.


Steering Committee

Burkhard Rost
Professor, Technische Universität München
President, ISCB

Janet Kelso
Group Leader, Max-Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
Vice President, ISCB

Yingrui Li
Director of Science and Techonology, BGI, China

Masanori Arita
Associate Professor, University of Tokyo
AYRCOB organizer

Reinhard Schneider
Head of Bioinformatics Core Facility LCSB, University of Luxembourg
Treasurer, ISCB

Scott Markel
Principal Bioinformatics Architect Accelrys, Inc.
Secretary, ISCB

Paul Horton
Research Team Leader, AIST, CBRC

Program Committee

Victor Jin  *Chair
Assistant Professor, The Ohio State University

Siu-Ming Yiu       also Local committee, publicity in Hong Kong
Assistant Professor University of Hong Kong

Jong Bhak
Director, Theragen BiO institute, Korea

Wen-Lian Hsu
Distinguished Research Fellow
Institute of Information Science, Academia Sinica, Taiwan

Tim Bailey
Senior Research Fellow
University of Queensland, Australia

Jung-Hsien Chiang
National Cheng Kung University, Taiwan

Mikael Bodén
Group Leader
University of Queensland, Australia

Hsueh-Fen Juan
National Taiwan University

Hsuan-Cheng Huang
Associate Professor
National Yangming University, Taiwan

Xuewen Chen
Director, Bioinformatics and Computational Life Sciences Laboratory
Professor, University of Kansas, USA

Arne Elofsson
Stockholm University, Sweden

Wayne Mitchell
Group Leader, Bioinformatics
Experimental Therapeutics Centre
Biopolis, Singapore

Michael Gromiha
Associate Professor
Indian Institute of Technology (IIT) Madras, India

Daehee Hwang
Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea

Yu-Yen Ou
Assistant Professor,
Yuan-Ze University, Chung-Li, Taiwan

Guylaine Poisson
Associate Professor,
University of Hawai'i, USA

Juan Liu
Wuhan University, China

Kentaro Tomii
Senior Researcher
Computational Biology Research Center, Japan

Martin Frith
Computational Biology Research Center, Japan

Highlights Committee

Francisco Azuaje
Senior Researcher
Centre de Recherche Public de le Santé, Luxembourg

Bruce Aronow
Cincinnati Children's Research Foundation, USA

Guylaine Poisson
Associate Professor
University of Hawai'i, USA

Daehee Hwang
Pohang University of Science and Technology, Korea

Yu-Yen Ou
Assistant Professor,
Yuan-Ze University, Chung-Li, Taiwan

Advisory Board

Yingrui Li        Local scientific chair
Director of Science and Techonology, BGI, China

Masanori Arita    Supervisor of AYRCOB satellite meeting
Associate Professor, University of Tokyo & AYRCOB organizer

Limsoon Wong
Provost's Chair Professor and Head of Computer Science, School of Computing, National University of Singapore
Professor of Pathology, School of Medicine, National University of Singapore
Leader, Bioinformatics Programme, NUS Office of Life Sciences

Luonan Chen
Executive Director, Key Laboratory of Systems Biology, Shanghai Institutes for Biological Sciences, Chinese Academy of Sciences
Professor, Institute of Systems Biology, Shanghai University, China

Biaoyang Lin
Professor and Director, Systems Biology, Zhejiang-California  
International Nanosystems Institute (ZCNI), Zhejiang Univ., Hangzhou, China

Stephen Tsui
Professor, School of Biomedical Sciences, Associate Director, CUHK-BGI Innovative Institute of Transomics
Director, Centre for Microbial Genomics and Proteomics
Director, Hong Kong Bioinformatics Centre

Mark Ragan
Professor and Head Genomics and Computational Biology Institute for Molecular Bioscience
Professor, School of Information Technology & Electrical Engineering, The University of Queensland
Director, ARC Centre of Excellence in Bioinformatics

Kiyoshi Asai
Director, Computational Biology Research Center, AIST
Professor, the University of Tokyo

Paul Horton will serve as conference chair.

Archival Content

Notes on going from the Hong Kong airport to Shenzhen

Call for Papers

Poster used to advertize the conference