{ C O N T E N T S }
volume 6, issue 3

President’s Letter

ISMB 2003


SGI Awards

Sponsorship Opportunities

Rocky 1


ISCB Staff Introduction

Strategic Planning

Government Relations

Special Interest Groups



PSB 2004

Book Review


Events and Opportunities

Newsletter Homepage

Download Newsletter pdf

Government Relations

SGI Awards Presented at ISMB 2003

The ISMB 2003 program committee, chaired by Gene Myers, professor of electrical engineering and computer sciences at the University of California, Berkeley, chose the finalists for this year's SGI Best Paper and Best Student Paper awards. The winners in both categories were selected at ISMB 2003. This year’s winners include:

  • Best student paper: Discovering Molecular Pathways from Protein Interaction and Gene Expression Data. Eran Segal, Haidong Wang, and Daphne Koller.
  • Best paper: Discovery of Transcriptional Modules from DNA Sequence and Gene Expression. Eran Segal, Roman Yelensky, and Daphne Koller.
  • Best runner up paper: A Probabilistic Method to Detect Regulatory Modules. Saurabh Sinha, Erik van Nimwegen, and Eric Siggia.
Ten posters—from a pool of hundreds—were selected to receive 2003 SGI Poster honors. ISMB delegates selected the best poster winners. The winners selected were:
  • Domain-Domain Correlations in Yeast Protein Complexes. Doron Betel and Christopher W.V. Hogue.
  • GOstat: Find Statistically Overrepresented Gene. Tim Beissbarth and Terry Speed.
  • Efficiently Finding Regulatory Elements using Correlation with Gene Expression. Hideo Bannai, Shunsuke Inenaga, Ayumi Shinohara, Masayuki Takeda, and Satoru Miyano.
  • Melbourne Brain Genome Project. Seong-Seng Tan, Lavinia Hyde, Masters C, Gunnersen J, Kenshole B, Job C, Augustine C, Boon W-M, Brown M, and Scott HS.
  • Identification of Putative Transcription Factor Binding Sites Conserved Across Orthologous Human, Mouse and Rat Sequences. Alex Gouth, Tim Beissbarth, Joelle Michaud, Catherine Carmichael, Matthew Ritchie, Gordon.
  • Identification of Putative Insulin Binding Motifs of the Insulin Receptor. Steve Bottomley, Jessica Mitchell, Brian Plewright, and Erik Helmerhorst.
  • Prediction of a Full Length Gene from Partial Sequence. Chung, Myungguen, Cho, Sooyoung, Ban, Hyojeong; Kim, Hyun, and Lee Youngseek.
  • PSORT-B: A Web-based Tool for Bacterial Subcellular Localization Prediction. Jennifer L. Gardy, Cory A. Spencer, and Fiona S.L. Brinkman.
  • Genomics of Vertebrate Splicing Regulatory Elements. Gene Yeo, Shawn Hoon, and Chris Burge.
  • A DNA-Based Theorem Proving by Resolution Refutation. Ji-Yoon Park, In-Hee Lee, Young-Gyu Chai, and Byoung-Tak Zhang.