{ C O N T E N T S }
Volume 9, Issue 2

President's Letter

Welcome to ISMB 2006!

Student Council Events

Mathieu Blanchette
Overton Prize

Michael Waterman
Senior Scientist
Accomplishment Award

One Year of
PLoS Computational Biology

PLoS CB Education Column
- Call for Contributions

BioLINK and BioCreAtIvE:
Linking Text to Biological Resources

ISCB Officer and Student
Council Leadership Elections

MentorNet News

Post your Events & News

Announcing ISMB/ECCB 2007

Premier 2006 Meetings

Student Travel Fellowships

Newsletter Cover Image Competition

News from the Field

Key Dates for Key Meetings

Bioinformatics Books
on ISCB Website

Upcoming Conferences
& Events




Copyright © 2006 International Society for Computational Biology.
All rights reserved.

ISCB Officer and Student Council Leadership Elections

ISCB Officer and Student Council Leader elections for the next term will begin soon. All ISCB members are encouraged to participate in these elections. Remember, those elected will be serving YOU and regularly speaking on your behalf regarding Society matters. To view the candidate statements, please visit www.iscb.org/candidates06.php. A question and answer period will be open from September 1 through 21, and elections will be held online from September 22 through October 6. Please visit the above URL for further details and to link to the full statements of each candidate listed below

Two Vice Presidential candidates:
Terry Gaasterland, University of California, San Diego
Reinhard Schneider, EMBL
Secretary candidate:
Janet Kelso, Max-Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology
Treasurer candidate:
David Rocke, University of California, Davis
Student Council Representative to the ISCB Board of Directors candidate
Vijaya Parthiban, Cologne University Bioinformatics Center
Student Council Chair candidate:
Manuel J Corpas, University of Manchester
Two Student Council Vice Chair candidates:
Sarath Janga, Center for Genomic Sciences Office
Victor J Weigman, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill
Two Student Council Secretary candidates:
Milana Frenkel, Weizmann Institute of Science
Nils Gehlenborg, Institute for Systems Biology