Leading Professional Society for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Connecting, Training, Empowering, Worldwide

ISCB News and Announcements

Comment period on feedback to US government public access policy closes Jan 21

The Public Affairs Committee of the International Society for Computational Biology (ISCB) urges ISCB members to provide feedback to the U.S. government on Public Access policy. The Obama administration wants to hear from the public on access to results of publicly-funded research, in particular scientific literature. For more information, and to comment, please visit http://www.ostp.gov/cs/public_access/public_access_forum.

Discussion amongst the ISCB Committee has resulted in a draft letter we'd like to get you feedback on.  To read it, and to comment, please visit the ISCB Blog at http://iscb-discussion.blogspot.com/2010/01/iscb-members-asked-to-comment-on-public.html

ISCB Election Results for the Term Beginning January 21, 2010

October 16, 2009 -- Burkhard Rost has been reelected for an unprecedented third term as ISCB President through the ISCB President-elect online elections that took place from September 15-28, 2009.

Every other year ISCB members elect the next President-elect, which is a one year term that upon completion automatically converts into a two-year term as President. Dr. Rost has been a member of the ISCB Board of Directors since 2004, and an Officer of ISCB since 2005 when he was elected to a two-year term as Vice President. In 2006 he was also elected to serve concurrently as President-elect, and took office as President in 2007. He has since won two additional President-elect elections, thus securing his presidency until 2012.

The ISCB Student Council elections were included on the same ballot for one year terms, and the following student and post doctoral leaders were elected:

Jeroen de Ridder : Student Council Chair
Venkatakrishnan AJ : Student Council Vice Chair
Jayne Hehir-Kwa : Student Council Secretary
Avinash K Shanmugam : Regional Student Group (RSG) Committee Chair
Nils Gehlenborg : Student Council Representative to the ISCB Board of Directors

All of the above are congratulated on their success, and all candidates are thanked for their willingness to serve ISCB and its global membership.