{ C O N T E N T S }
volume 5, issue 2

President’s Letter

Register for ISMB 2002

Host ISMB 2004 or 2005

David Baker: 2002 Overton Prize Recipient

Overton Endowment

ISMB 2002 Committees

ISMB 2002 Sponsor and Exhibitor Opportunities

Best Paper Award by SGI

ISMB 2002 SIGs

ISMB Goes Down Under in 2003

Hot Jobs! ISMB 2002 Job Fair

ISCB Board Nominations

Bioinformatics Pioneers: ISMB 2002 Keynote Speakers

Anna Tramontano: Bioinformatics in Europe

Software Recommendations

ISCB’s Affiliated Regional Groups

ISCB Staff Introduction

Fellowship Recipients

Events and Opportunities

Newsletter Homepage

Download Newsletter pdf

Student Travel Fellowships: RECOMB2002

This year, the ISCB provided travel awards for graduate students and postdoctoral researchers to attend the 2002 International Conference on Research in Computational Molecular Biology (RECOMB), held in Washington DC. Each was awarded a $500 travel fellowship to help cover the costs of attending the conference. The selection was based on geographic origin, field of study, and paper or poster presentation, though presenting a poster or paper was not a requirement for selection.

The winners included: Annette Höglund, a graduate student at Saarland University, Germany; M. Madan Babu, a graduatestudent at the University of Cambridge, UK; Hilary Booth, a postdoctoral fellow at the Australian National University; Dana Pe’er, a graduate student at Hebrew University, Israel; Tomas Vinar, a graduate student at the University of Waterloo, Canada; Sven Rahmann, a graduate student at the Max-Planck-Institut für Molekulare Genetik, Germany; Guang Song, a graduate student in the Computer Science Department at Texas A&M University, US; Claudia Rangel at Claremont Graduate University, US; Aik Choon Tan at the University of Glasgow, Scotland; Yujin Hoshida, a postgraduate student at the University of Tokyo, Japan; and Ydo Wexler a graduate student at the Technion, Israel.

ISCB Travel Fellowship Recipients and Board Members (clockwise from far left): Annette Höglund, Madan Babu Mohan, Hilary Booth, Dana Pe’er, Tomas Vinar, Sven Rahmann, Guang Song ,Ydo Wexler, Barbara Bryant, David Rocke, Phil Bourne (not pictured: Aik Choon Tan and Yujin Hoshida)