Leading Professional Society for Computational Biology and Bioinformatics
Connecting, Training, Empowering, Worldwide



ISMB 2018 Steering Committee

Yana Bromberg, Proceedings Co-chair, Rutgers University, United States
Bruno Gaeta, Treasurer, University of New South Wales, Australia
Janet Kelso, Conference Advisory Council Co-chair, Max Planck Institute for Evolutionary Anthropology, Germany
Diane E. Kovats, ISCB Executive Director, United States
Steven Leard, ISMB Conference Director, Canada
Thomas Lengauer, President, ISCB, Max Planck Institute for Informatics, Germany
Christine Orengo, Conference Co-chair, University College London, United Kingdom
Predrag Radivojac, Proceedings Co-chair, Indiana University, United States
Alfonso Valencia, Past-President, ISCB, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain
Tandy Warnow, Conference Co-chair, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, United States

Proceedings Committee

Yana Bromberg, Co-chair, Rutgers University, United States
Predrag Radivojac, Co-chair, Indiana University, United States

Area Chairs:

Studies of Phenotypes and Clinical Applications

Anna Goldenberg, University of Toronto, Canada

Comparative and Functional Genomics

Carl Kingsford, Carnegie Mellon University, United States

Bioinformatics Education

Fran Lewitter, Whitehead Institute for Biomedical Research, United States

Genomic Variation Analysis

Sriram Sankararaman, University of California, Los Angeles, United States

Bioinformatics of Microbes and Microbiomes

Mihai Pop, University of Maryland, United States

Population Genomics and Molecular Evolution

Nadia El-Mabrouk, University of Montreal, Canada

Macromolecular Sequence, Structure, and Function

Charlotte Deane, University of Oxford, United Kingdom

Systems Biology and Networks

Roded Sharan, Tel-Aviv University, Israel

Genome Privacy and Security

Haixu Tang, Indiana University, United States

Area Chairs - COSIs:

Rolf Backhofen, Albert-Ludwigs-University, Germany (RNA)
Jan Baumbach, TU Munich, Germany
Emidio Capriotti, University of Bologna, Italy (VarI)
Ana Conesa, Centro de Investigación Príncipe Felipe, Spain (HiTSeq)
Christophe Dessimoz, University of Lausanne, Switzerland (Evolution)
Jeremy Goecks, Oregon Health & Science University, United States (BioVis)
Paweł P Łabaj, Austrian Academy of Sciences and Jagiellonian University, Poland  (CAMDA)
Florian Markowetz, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom (MLCSB)
Nicola Mulder, University of Cape Town, South Africa (Education)
Alice McHardy, Helmholtz Centre for Infection Research, Germany (Microbiome)
Natasa Przulj, University College, London, United Kingdom (NetBio)
Venkata Satagopam, Université du Luxembourg (TransMed)
Saurabh Sinha, University of Illinois at Urbana–Champaign, United States (RegSys)
Karin Verspoor, University of Melbourne, Australia (Bio-Ontologies)
Olga Vitek, Northeastern University, United States (CompMS)

Posters Committee

Chair: Casey Greene, University of Pennsylvania, United States
Co-chair: Arjun Krishnan, Michigan State University, United States

Technology Track Committee

Chair: Dominic Clark, EMBL-EBI, Hinxton, United Kingdom
Co-chair: Jean-Francois Tomb, University of Delaware, United States

Tutorials Committee

Chair: Michelle D. Brazas, Ontario Institute for Cancer Research, Canada
Co-chair: Lonnie Welch, Ohio University, United States

Travel Fellowship Committee

Chair: Lucia Peixoto, Washington State University, United States
Co-chair: Catherine Putonti, Loyola University Chicago, United States
Grants: Terry Gaasterland, Vice President, ISCB; University of California San Diego, United States